Medhavi Sharma: Painting vivid shades of Dogra culture

Boboji & Medhavi

Next to Medhavi Sharma, is a woman in her early sixties from rustic Duggar Pradesh. Dressed up in Dogra finery, this woman by the name of ‘Boboji’ affirms deep connection to her roots and celebration of rich culture and traditions. Receding forehead, almond shaped eyes, and aquiline nose, which are symbolic features of Basohli Paintings, complemented by contemporary art interventions make her even more portentous.

“Bobo ji is a Dogri word for elder sister. She was the first character that came to life when I aspired to bring forth the forgotten lores of the land I come from,” says Medhavi, 25, an artist from Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir.

Since then, the character has been depicted making Dogra cuisines like Kaladi, Gheur and Kimb, wearing Pashmina Shawl weaved in Basohli and bridal suit embellished with Gotta work, visiting Mansar Lake, a sacred lake and popular excursion site, celebrating Bacch Dua, a folk festival, and recently, sewing face masks for needy amidst coronavirus pandemic.

Bobo ji has eventually become the protagonist of art-based initiatives by Medhavi aimed to explore, portray and revive the lifestyle and customs of Dogras. She is being received well and making people nostalgic.

Boboji, the Dogra tradition bearer

What was the pivotal moment when you decided to paint Boboji, which Dogra people, especially the women, are increasingly identifying themselves with?

That’s flattering! It was my lifetime wish to paint a character, something that is memorable and relatable. One day, while I was at home in Udhampur for winter break, I saw my mother preparing delicious ‘Kimb chaat’. Though it is a common sight in Dogra households, or rather, used to be, it compelled me to pick up my colours and canvas.

I took a day to illustrate a Dogra female character, who is basking in the sun, cutting and peeling kimb fruit, and using stone mortar and pestle to make walnut-coriander chutney. I called her Bobo ji.

Boboji making Kimb Chaat

What do you have to say about Bobo ji, as the character?

I have developed an unwavering faith in her as my character. She is an amalgamation of attributes of my grandmother and other elderly women of my family, and also of Basohli Painting and contemporary art. She offers immense possibilities to tell all the stories I have, such as about her relations with the family members and society, important life events, prevalent customs and so on. She can be both hand-painted, and digitally-made. Besides, she can be living in present, reminiscing past and wondering about future.

I wanted an immersive female character for regenerating cognizance about indigenous culture as I think women are the tradition bearers and instruments in the cultural continuum. So, with every painting, I have pushed her in that direction.

Boboji’s flashback of her wedding

I have to thank my family, friends and art mentors who have supported me in my venture. A special shout-out to Debanjan Majhi, Film student at NID who does compositing and sound design for Boboji, and Namita Rathi, Textile Designing student at NID, my art critique.

How do you see Bobo ji achieving the onerous task of resuscitating forgotten lores and traditions?

Art is indispensable in society, particularly, in a society facing crisis. Dogra society is such. It has largely become aloof to its language, traditions, and art forms, in response to various factors including political changes, conflict, and modern commerce.

I believe visual art and storytelling can encourage not only the older generation, but also the younger generation towards their roots. This medium has the ability to organize complex situations into comprehensible meaningful creations. Don’t the kids love and imitate cartoon characters! With Bobo ji, I hope to do the same.

I use certain aspects of Basohli paintings, dwindling art school native to Jammu region’s Basohli town, make figures doing ‘desi’ things in Dogra attires and accessories, and paint with vibrant colours. To make it more appealing and relevant in times when technology is pervasive, I use animation, music and other possible digital overtures. Promotion on social media platforms is crucial.

The reception my artwork effort is getting, can be considered somewhat satisfying, but definitely, a long way to go.

(Left) Boboji making Kaleere for her niece’s wedding | (Right) Boboji and her daughter Durga celebrating Bacch Dua

What is Boboji up to these days?

She is staying home, sewing masks and following all the guidelines announced by government to mitigate coronavirus. Her daughter Durga recently worked in the animated music video titled ‘Badli’.

(Left) Boboji and her daughter Durga sewing face masks | (Right) Durga features in music video ‘Badli’

What are the other highlights of your art-life?

I have been in love with art since childhood, and have experimented with different art mediums and forms, for instance, doodling, Basohli Painting, oil painting, textile weaving, textile print development, digital art, and animation.

I bagged International Gold medal for painting in 2005, which motivated me to take my hobby seriously. Learning Basohli miniature paintings from renowned artist and our art teacher at Army School Udhampur, SS Baloria is the second highlight of my art-life. There on, I won several school-level, district-level awards. In 2008, I won International Best Child Artist Award by Korasala Wonder Art Village, Andhra Pradesh.

Medhavi with SS Baloria, her art teacher and well-known Basohli Painting artist

While pursuing my undergraduate degree in Computer Science Engineering from Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University Katra, I got the opportunity to see and make artworks from a different perspective. During this period, I won first prize as a designer in inter-college fashion show, and college-level gold medals for painting, poster making, banner making, and designing competitions. Still in college, I sought an extension. As such in 2016, I painted a wall mural on the banks of river Devika to spread awareness about rising pollution in the waters of river considered holy. I received a recognition award for this project under Udhampur Administration’s Vision 2020. Also, I had submitted a doodle for Red Bull Doodle Art Championship 2017 and got shortlisted in top ten.

Wall Mural on the banks of river Devika

Later, when working as a Project Engineer with an IT company based in Delhi-NCR, I exhibited my artworks in 9th International Artist Residency ‘Champaran Art Festival’ India.

Making it through the entrance exam of National Institute of Design, Ahmadabad, with All India Rank 2 is like seeing my wish granted. I had shown the interviewers my illustration series on Duggar Pradesh and emphasized on the need for research and revival of Dogra heritage. I am a student of Textile Designing now, and have become more sensitive towards indigenous and dying arts.

From ‘Stories of Duggar Pradesh’

Alongside my education at NID, I have been involved with various art projects. I participated in logo designing competitions for Udhampur Administration’s ‘Open Defecation Free’ and ‘Back To Village’ schemes. In summer vacations of 2018, I studied the textile-scape of Jammu region to get an idea of self-sustaining ecosystems of local craft practices, such as Calico printing in Samba, Basohli Paintings and Pashmina. And in 2019, Bobo ji happened.

Please tell us about Parolaa.

I have named my Facebook page as Parolaa, which refers to wall paintings, again a vanishing folk art of Duggar Pradesh. It involves white strokes and designs with white clay (parola) in peculiar patterns on outer walls smeared with mud, husk and cow dung. Today, even the houses in remote villages are rarely found adorned with parola.

(Left) Medhavi’s FB page Parolaa | (Right) Rural house adorned with parola art, from the twitter handle of Voice of Dogras

What is next on your to-do list?

I will stay with Bobo Ji series, and bring up more stories and characters. I want to go back to paint Basohli Paintings in their original form, as it is vital for my creative fulfillment. I am considering putting up my Basohli Paintings for sale on my Facebook Page or on upcoming mobile application. Further, I and my friends are working on a film on Basohli Painting, life of the artist and beyond. We are waiting for the grant.

At present, I am interning as part of my curriculum. It has helped extending my understanding of textiles to colours and material finish. Given the pandemic, I’m working from home.

Medhavi’s dual knowledge of traditional as well as digital art disciplines underpins her aim of stimulating Duggar Pradesh’s culture. In fact, she has pushed the envelopes of creative innovation, for herself and for a thousand others of place. Wishing her the best!


Also: Read my article at The News Now

Medhavi Sharma: Painting vivid shades of Dogra culture

Published in The News Now on 6th September, 2020

2 comments

Leave a comment