Lockdown exposes Outmigration from J&K: Delving into causes and migrant’s present status

The lockdown in India, which came into force on 25 March, 2020, severely impacted migrant workers, as their means of livelihood were completely or partially suspended. They were stranded miles away from their native places, weeping to get back. Of these, a significant number belonged to Jammu and Kashmir.

The process to bring them back from Maharashtra, Rajashtan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, North East, Jharkhand, Bihar, and many other states/UTs is underway. The questions –why did they have to migrate? And are they alright at home now?

Masood Shah says, “I was born in Gunterian, a border village in Poonch suffering from skirmishes. I have lost one sister to shelling from across the border, and the other one was injured in firing. My father was hit by a shell, and my cousin is living with a piece of shell inside his body. Not only that, but local farming practices also were altered. There were no jobs that I or people like me could have taken up. Not in Poonch, not in J&K. In these circumstances, one could join militant ranks or roam jobless. I didn’t want to do either, so I went to Maharashtra.”

“I knew some people from J&K working as security guards in Mumbai-Pune. I had gone to work with them. There were more seekers like me. Few years down the line, we were able to start our own security service. We were now a job provider, rather say, bread provider for thousands of people,” he mentions adding that more than 300 persons belonging to Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Karnataka, J&K etc are employed as a security guard with them.

He points out, “From J&K, migration is mostly from Poonch, Rajouri, Samba, Kishtwar, Kathua, Jammu and Doda districts of Jammu region. They are usually well-educated, for instance, I know some have completed their Masters in Arts (MA), Bachelors in Education (Bed), Bachelors in Physical Education (BPEd). A few are from well-to-do families, such as sons or brothers of police officers in JK Police, and other security forces. All of them rued unemployment and conflict. They work for 8-10 months in Pune, and take back Rupees 60-70 thousand to their families they have saved. Ab unn sab ka bhi ghar chal raha hai aur humara bhi.”

Masood did not come back to Poonch in lockdown, as he had the responsibility of looking after his employees. He plans to come in September.

“We have our jobs, and are able to arrange food and other essentials here, while J&K government merely asked for our details for updating their database. Several employees wishing to meet their families are embarking on the longer than usual journey, and returning to Pune,” he tells.

Having spent nearly 25-26 years guarding flats and factories, Masood says he has earned respect in Maharashtra due to his hard work and sincerity. He has learned computer skills, Marathi, Hindi, and English. He has even built a pucca house in his native village.

“When I retire, I would have to worry less about my children’s employment. We have built a business which they can join, which people can join,” he expresses relief.

Manzoor Ahmed, a resident of Mahore, Reasi, says, “I work in Kattha (catechu) farms of Solan, Himachal Pradesh during the winter season. I migrate in November, come back in March-April, and have been doing so for the last 16-18 years. This year was different due to coronavirus. I had to return early in quite an odd way that included expensive tickets, testing and quarantine.”

Atleast 40-50 thousand persons from J&K migrate to Himachal every year to work in kattha farms and industries, he reveals.

He mentions, “There is little to do in Reasi. Its Kattha industry has vanished. So when I’m here, I try to find some work of construction, or farming. I have worked under the MGNREGA scheme as well. But the money we get, customarily not on time, is not enough to support our family.”

A matric pass, Manzoor earns well in Himachal’s kattha sector, as he is able to save Rupees 40-50 thousand to survive the rest of the year.

“In COVID19 lockdown, we are stuck at home, with no work and earnings. DC Ma’am had told us that we’ll get something from MGNREGA, which is yet to reach us,” he laments.

Vinod Kumar from Shiv Khori, Reasi, runs a small business in Patiala, Punjab, wherein he provides waiters/chefs to various catering agencies and hotels. Nearly 30 waiters/chefs working with him are also from Jammu region.

“I have worked at kiryana stores, hotels in Jammu and Reasi districts. I did not like working here. Small salaries are definitely a concern, but one also wants respect, and good behaviour from employers and society,” he says.

He tells that when working in Jammu, he was paid Rs 8000 per month, which used to get consumed in paying room rent, and buy ration.

“What could have I given to my family from this salary? I started going to Punjab with my friends and relatives around 8-10 years ago, especially during the wedding season. We organise 20-25 functions in a month, and save upto Rupees 20 thousand or so every month,” he states.

Vinod, aged 25, was in Punjab when the state-wide lockdown was announced, that was days before nation lockdown. He says, “Everything was suddenly shut. We got trapped there, with pending payments. I spent my savings to take care of my fellows.”

He registered himself and his fellows on government portal to return to native place. He claims, “We were quarantined for 28 days. There was some issue with our samples and we were re-tested. It took more than a month to reach home.”

“I don’t know farming. Hotels here are not giving work. I am still waiting for payments from Punjab,” he says adding that he’s worried lockdown might affect his upcoming earning season too.

As deduced from the trends observed, conflict, unemployment, under-development, ill working conditions and lesser salaries are the major drivers of outmigration from J&K. Mostly males had left home to find work at different places in the country, while the females stayed back to do farming and tend to the family. Due to COVID19 lockdown, these returnee migrants have exhausted their savings, are finding it difficult to find work here and are uncertain what future holds for them.

Also: Read my article at The News Now

Migrants return, but it is not easy at home too

Published in The News Now on 28th August, 2020

Leave a comment