Sky’s the limit for Deepshikha

Deepshikha Sharma added one more feather to her cap when she won the Tiara Pageant by TGPC, on 8th June. She is well known as a Miss India 2018 finalist from Jammu and Kashmir.

I interviewed her as she shares some of the memorable moments from her fashion career. Excerpts from the interview:

1. First of all, congratulations on another feat. Tell us about the Tiara Pageant that you’ve won recently.

Ans – The Tiara Queen is a beauty pageant under the aegis of TGPC (The Great Pageant Community) which intends to promote the talent and provide exposure to the aspiring beauty queens of tomorrow. It is conducted on the last day of the training at The Tiara Pageant Training Studio run by the first ever pageant coach of the country, Ritika Ramtri. The Tiara Queen provides an online platform to the pageant aspirers at the social media outlets of TGPC followed by many national and international pageants like Miss India and Miss Diva.

2. You are a Miss India finalist 2018, a big achievement for anyone. How has been your journey since then?

Ans – Being a Miss India 2018 Finalist from Jammu and Kashmir has been a lifetime achievement for me. I never knew I could be there, I never thought I had it in me. But one belief that I have always held onto my entire life is that if you’re determined and keen enough to achieve something, nothing can stop you. Sky’s the limit. It is not about how far you go in the world of pageantry, but it is the journey that evolves you into a whole other person. You grow into a much stronger, more confident and opinionated person.

3. Being from Jammu and Kashmir, has your career in the fashion industry been somewhat different or maybe difficult?

Ans – Well, to be very honest, not many people in Jammu and Kashmir know right about the world of pageantry. It is always mistaken for the world of glamour or maybe a road to Bollywood. And this is why, not everyone is supportive of pushing their children towards this field. The National and International pageants give us, young women, a platform to excel in any field of our choice, be it sports, be it politics, be it the defence forces, they give us a platform to voice our choices and make us strong independent women that we are today. There were many who doubted my dreams, my aspirations, my ambitions, who tried to pull me down but I only took it as a challenge to perform better each day and finally came out with flying colors.

4. Talk to us about your hometown, schooling and profession?

Ans- I am a Kashmiri pandit born and brought up in Jammu. I did my schooling from Army Public School, Ratnuchak, Jammu and later proceeded to Bangalore to pursue Engineering in Computer science from Visvesvaraya Technological University. I am also a fashion blogger at Vogue Ecstacy (vogueecstasy.wordpress.com).

5. When did you discover that fashion is your calling?

Ans- My inclination towards fashion is something that I was born with. And having a knack for writing, I decided to start a Fashion-Lifestyle blog. This is how Vogue Ecstacy was born. With time, the kind of response, the appreciation I got from the people around the globe, especially the people from my own state, it left me spellbound. It was thrilling to be an inspiration for my state and I am so overwhelmed. It was then that I realized that I was made for this.

IMG_20180423_230608.jpg

6. Who has been your biggest support throughout?

Ans- Undoubtedly my family has been THE biggest support for me, having my back. They were the ones who believed in me even when I didn’t. They kept pushing me to keep moving forward without worrying about the results. And it is all because of their immense support that today I stand tall and proud.

7. You’re a young lady, who has the whole sea to explore. Have you set any goals that you want to achieve?

Ans- Today I just know that there are much bigger things waiting for me ahead and there’s no limit to my dreams. Being the next Miss Universe is my aspiration and I’ll give my heart and soul to it.

8. According to you, what changes can be brought into society through fashion?

Ans- Fashion not only enhances our lifestyle but it also opens our mind to things, relationships and situations. It makes us more accepting and giving and thus it enhances our way of living.

9. Have you got any projects in line?

Ans- Soon after Miss India, I have been fortunate enough to have worked with some of the biggest brands like Wedding Sutra, Arpita Mehta, Falguni Shane Peacock. I am also the face of our very own DeSpa Studio, Jammu. And I believe this is just the beginning.

10. What message would you like to give to the young people who are still hesitant about chasing their hobbies and turn them into a career?

Ans- Well, unless you think of it as a hobby, you’re never gonna get there. You must be absolutely confident and a little crazy to reach wherever you want to and when you see people criticising you, trying to pull you down, know that you’re on the right path.

Also: Read my article at JAMMU LINKS NEWS

Sky’s the limit for Deepshikha, the daughter of soil 

http://www.jammulinksnews.com/newsdetail/160148/Jammu-Links-News-Skys_the_limit_for_Deepshikha__the_daughter_of_soil

 

1.jpg
Published in Jammu Links News on 26th June, 2018

Leave a comment